The Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) specifies what kids of chemical releases and quantities require notification, to who reports and notification are required, and establishes threshold planning quantities. The provisions of EPCRA require industry to comply with reports to storage, manufacture and releases to specific agencies. Along with these reporting requirements, fees required by Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 459.99181, 459.99182 and Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 459.744 are collected and granted to state and local agencies to provide assistance in planning, training and equipment activities to prevent, respond to and mitigate hazardous materials incidents.
During the 2003 Legislative Session, the maximum bee to be paid by each person who stores hazardous materials was increased from $5,000 to $15,000. The State Emergency Response Commission (SERC) has adopted regulations to designate the maximum fee of $7,500 which is consistent with the Consumer Price Index increase since 1987, when this cap was initially set.
The State Fire Marshal Division (SFM) collects the Nevada Combined Agency Hazmat Facility Report (EPCRA Section 311/312) and associated fees on behalf of their office and the SERC. Submission deadline of chemical information into the Online Hazmat Reporting System is March 1st of every year. The SFM fee is $150 per facility for the hazmat permit. The system rolls over yearly on or around the second week in January. If this is your first time working with the Online Hazmat Reporting System, go to Hazmat Permitting Office for assistance.
The Online Hazmat Reporting System is accessible by dispatchers to assist first responders during an incident and staff to assist in responding to public information requests.
EPCRA Section 313, Toxic Release Inventory (TRI) Program fees are submitted directly to the SERC. Submission deadline of chemical information into the Toxic Release Inventory is July 1st of every year. Pursuant to NRS 459.744, there is a fee of $500 per form filed.(see cap on annual fees listed below)
No person will pay the SERC more than $7,500 for 311/312 and/or 313 fees.